REVIEW: GLASS SWORD BY VICTORIA AVEYARD

23174274

Title: Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publication Date: February 9th 2016 by HarperTeen

Genres: YA, Fantasy, Dystopian, Sci-Fi

Date read: May 28-29, 2016

My rating: ★★★★✩

synopsis

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

review

—> Red Queen: Book Review

Glass Sword is the second book from the ongoing high fantasy dystopian series, Red Queen. If you haven’t read Red Queen, I suggest you read it first then come back  here later for a spoiler free review of the sequel.

I read Red Queen for the curiosity I had of its hype. It was a bit of disappointment in my part because I had really high expectations but that didn’t stop me to continue Glass Sword. And it was the BEST DECISION. I totally regret not jumping right into Glass Sword as soon as I finished Red Queen. IT WAS SO GOOD AND SO MUCH BETTER THAN RED QUEEN. I shouldn’t have let my disappointments go further. So if you are having thoughts if you should continue this series through Glass Sword, I highly recommend you drop whatever you’re doing and just jump right into it.

As we all already know, in Mare‘s world, they’re divided by blood. The Silvers and the other ones are Reds. Silvers possess a variety of superhuman abilities, such as manipulating fire. Reds, on the other hand, don’t possess any superhuman abilities. So when Mare, a lowly red, accidentally showed an ability which is an impossibility for someone like her, all was puzzled. The royal court tried to hide this impossibility by introducing her to the world as a lost Silver princess and that she was raised by reds but she’s truly a Silver. A red blood with silver abilities, Mare encounters a lot of troubles with both worlds. That is much the summary of the first book. This goes on with the next book.

“Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself in a deathly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.”

Let’s look back at the thoughts I wrote down right after I finished it:

CjemmiBVEAAUrwd

Yep. That was me totally mind blown by this helluva book just couple of minutes away from 1 in the morning.  9868712.jpg

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT THIS BOOK:

1. Main characters development – There’s a lot of changes in the main characters here, I love how it makes sense why.

  • Mare – I’ve seen a lot of people hating her in this book on how she’s annoyingly selfish. I agree but for me, it’s totally a good thing. With what she’s gone through, the changes come real.
  • Cal – He changed a lot and I’m heartbroken by what it caused it. He still deals with everything with maturity despite of his every right to sulk in a corner and curse the world with what it’s taken from him.
  • Kilorn – I expected the typical whiny used-to-be lover from him, but I’m so glad it didn’t happen.

2. Writing Style (as always) – In this book, Victoria Aveyard has written a mixed of all good things. She writes humorously, she places sentences after sentences perfectly and her words have the power to lure you in up to its core.

3. Mind-blowing ending – Victoria Aveyard has her way to have her readers achingly anticipate for what will happen next from where she left the story. God, I hate her, she’s so good at this game.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE ABOUT THIS BOOK:

1. Plot line – I find it a little bit of  a drag and repetitive.

2. Underdeveloped characters – She introduced a lot of new and cool characters but left it just that. I’d definitely love to know more from the other characters other than Mare, okay? Especially the newbloods. 

3. “New bloods” – Oh come on, please come up with a better label.

Rolls_Eyes.gif

All still sums up to an awesome read. It was a WILD RIDE. I loved it so much: the betrayal, the action-packed scenes and the romance *screams “TEAM CAL”*. I’m calling for a film adaptation where I can go through the story over and over again.

oh34R25e

“No heart can ever be truly understood. Not even your own.”

“If I am a sword, I am a sword made of glass, and I feel myself beginning to shatter.”

“I suppose I should get used to being alone too. Not in the world, but in here. In my heart.”

“No one is born evil, just like no one is born alone. They become that way, through choice and circumstance.”

“But I can’t shake the feeling that, while they stand with me, there’s no one beside me. Even with an army at my back, I am still alone.”

IMG_0765

Leave a Reply

