REVIEW: THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE BY CYNTHIA HAND

17285330Title: The Last Time We Say Goodbye

Author: Cynthia Hand

Publication Date: Published February 10th 2015 by Harper Teen

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction

No. of pages: 386 pages

Date read: May 7-9, 2016

My rating★★★✩✩

W7p7BElX

There’s death all around us.
We just don’t pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

lgHOpxvZ

I’ve been wanting to read this since it came out. I’ve been into books that feature teenage suicide recently and I can say this book is generic. Maybe I would have liked it more if I read it before all of the other books I read that tackle the similar subject.

The story started as cliché as possible. With the main protagonist, Lexie, who has lost her younger brother, Ty, from suicide and somehow blames herself for it. Dave, her therapist, recommended to write her feelings into a journal. That goes on with the rest of the plot, Lexie struggling from her brother’s death. There are also snippets of her love story. I loved that it was focused more on the grieving instead of the love story. The writing style is light that from the moment I read the first sentence, I can’t seem to stop reading it.

It started off good and ended up just as good. And maybe that’s the problem in this book, it’s flat. I was waiting where the plot would go and was unhappy that it was as not amazing as I expected. I guess I was waiting for a ‘woah’ moment and it never came.

I wanted to love the characters because they were all great but there’s too little information about each of them. I can’t deny though that I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Yes, this book is wonderfully written. But no, I wasn’t satisfied. The writing style kept me on going about reading it. It’s a very nice read if you are looking for something short and easy to read and a book full of emotions. I just wanted more I guess. I’d definitely love a sequel where the characters’ relationships will have been given more background. This is still definitely worth a read though!

* There’s one thing I’m bothered about: the funerals in this book. I read from the most of the books that tackle the similar subject that funerals for those who have committed suicide weren’t blessed by a priest? And in this book, they’re allowed to? Someone enlighten me please.

oh34R25e

“The people we love are never truly gone”

“You never know when it’s going to be the last time.”

“Brave isn’t something you are. It’s something you do.”

“It’s such a cliché, the whole ‘time heals all wounds’ thing, but it’s true. Clichés are clichés for a reason,”

“I’m messed up. I go through phases where I think everything’s going to be okay and the sky is blue and stuff and I can feel the sun and the air going in and out of my lungs and I think, life is good. But then every time, I also know deep down that the darkness is coming. And it’s going to keep coming. And when I’m in the darkness I’m going to screw up everything.”

signature

Leave a Reply

